Story of a Secret Heart: Where it all began

‘Hi,’ I said. ‘Where are you?’

He waited only a few seconds to answer, but I knew him well enough to know something was wrong when he answered, very distracted, with the same question I had asked him:

‘Where are you?’ he said.

At that moment, something deep inside me, and I had no idea what it was, told me to lie, and so I answered with ‘still at the fundraiser, but I’m leaving now.’ Of course that was a lie, which I immediately regretted, as I was obviously standing in our open plan kitchen at home. Despite my guilt, I quickly followed up my lie with a repeated, ‘Where are you?’

His next sentence broke my heart into a million teeny tiny little pieces, and I would never forget it. ‘I’m at home,’ he said.

2 thoughts on “Story of a Secret Heart: Where it all began

Leave a Reply

