The day I was adopted….written by Coco

The human female began to call me a ‘foster fail’ which the other cats told me meant that no one wanted me. Although I was very upset by these remarks I wasn’t all that surprised. I didn’t really like humans, they scared me a lot, and so I hid from them whenever I could.

They also annoyed me. They seemed so unevolved, and even when I tried to display my hatred towards them by staring at them in disgust, they strangely continued to coo over me.

I didn’t really like the other cats much either, they were all so friendly with the humans, and I always felt a bit left out.

When other humans would come to the house to see the other cats, they were never interested in me, I was always too shy and timid to be appealing to them, and so I was never picked to leave with them.

Then one day, as I was sleeping on a lovely pile of towels under the kitchen table, I was rudely awakened by the human female who picked me up and handed me to a younger human female who seemed intent on crushing me. I wasn’t really sure what I had done to deserve this, or why the older human female was allowing such behaviour. But as I struggled to break free, her grip only got tighter and tighter, and she whispered in my ear that she loved me. Now I’m not really sure how she could say she loved me, we had only just met! But I began to soften to her for some reason, she seemed somewhat sad, like she needed me. I had never been needed before. It was at that moment that she picked me, not any of the other cats, who were all circling her feet and meowing up at her, she chose me.

From that point on I loved her too.

6 thoughts on “The day I was adopted….written by Coco

  1. sagereads says:

    Reblogged this on sagereads and commented:
    This is so sweet! On impulse, we recently rescued a dog from being put to sleep at a kill shelter and let me tell you. It is the best thing we could have ever done. She is 71 lbs of pure love and affection. Very well mannered and completely house broken. Save a life people! You won’t regret it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cassiellensecretstory says:

      O I love to hear stories like that :)! Good on you and congratulations:). It is the best feeling! One lucky dog!

      Thanks for reblogging :). I can’t read it back without bursting into tears so I hope there aren’t too many mistakes LOL.

      Liked by 1 person

      • sagereads says:

        Thank you!! Yes, its one the best decisions we have ever done. They even showed my husband the kill tag she would have worn had he not rescued her. And no, no mistakes!! The way it is written is perfect 🙂 Thank you for posting your story!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

