Therapy

Running and writing are my two therapies.

I started writing at a very difficult time in my life, and it really helped me through some dark times. When I was writing I felt less alone, like I was sort of talking to someone….and I think  that is very much how the book comes across. I am very much telling a story to you, the reader, and it is a very personal one.

I started running after I finished book one. I guess I needed something else to focus on as all of a sudden I had so much free time! I am not the best runner, or the fastest, or the most competitive, but I do enjoy it and it gives me that very valuable ‘me time’ that I think we all really benefit from.

What are your therapies?

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Therapy

  1. MorganPaige says:

    I love this post! Writing is definitely my therapy, and so is yoga and meditation. I used to run, and I LOVED it, but my asthma makes it much of a seasonal therapy thing. I can do yoga and meditate in most places despite when I have to travel for work so that’s what I do 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. 30ishsinglecat says:

    Hi

    Well I do run as well… I was in a running group but as the group ended I’m running by myself. Well sometimes I get my brother in law’s dog and we run together. I wish I could write books but I don’t know the composition works, the structure… So I do pos grads and I have a pretty fun and easy time writing theses.. next week will be my last course.. enough… I need to do something else.. I also like French movies.. American movies are too appealing and shallow.., I listen to Nina Simone… sometimes I also ride my bicycle… hey if you know a site on how to write short stories or books send it to me

    Liked by 1 person

    • cassiellensecretstory says:

      SO lovely to hear a little bit about you :). I bet you are a lot faster than me at running lol!

      Well I honestly didn’t know anything about writing when I first started (and tbh I still don’t), I just picked up a pen one day and started to write down how I felt. I guess that is what Blogs are for too though!

      Like

  3. theherdlesswitch says:

    Writing for me too, esp. poetry, that has been my outlet for most of my life, everything else I just tend to keep bottled up. I love the power and freedom of a free verse poem, you can cut out your thoughts and mix them with the barely tangible, release them into the ether, so to speak. : )

    Meno

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jamivee says:

    I started therapy for the first time in my life this February (I’m 44). She had me start a journal, which I thought was silly. I complied, because I wanted to “fix” whatever was wrong with me so I could save my marriage. Well, turns out writing in my journal is what saved my soul. I can’t imagine being where I am without it. During my darkest times, it was a substitute for therapy…something that helped bridge the gap between sessions. Now, it’s like going back to an old friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jamivee says:

    Stupidly? More like “bravely”. Good for you!

    Yes, I still write, though I’m transitioning from my journal to my blog. It’s not as easy of a transition as I thought it would be…going from writing to myself and my therapist to writing for the whole world to see. Definitely a learning curve, but I’m enjoying it:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • cassiellensecretstory says:

      O I couldn’t agree more. I wrote my whole journal in the present tense…because that’s what it was at the time, and even if I wrote it after the fact, when I was writing I still imagined myself in that moment in time! An editors worse nightmare because the book had to be in the past tense. Took FOREVER to edit! Good luck 🙂 and stay strong.

      Like

  6. E says:

    “Running is cheaper than therapy”, it’s a magnet on my fridge and it’s true. I workout everyday or else I’m agitated and fussy. I’ve also always used writing as an outlet. However, I did years of traditional therapy and that was ok I guess hahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

