Being busy…

So, I haven’t been very active on my blog this year at all, and for that I am sorry. I guess I have been feeling a bit defeated and a little overwhelmed. Life just gets so God dam busy, doesn’t it? Honestly, I don’t know where the time goes. How is it May 2017 already?

Although I have some great reviews on the book already, as most of you know getting reviews is hard. It’s exhausting. Add to that family, friends, six nieces and nephews, three cats and two jobs, and I don’t seem to be able to find the time to continue writing book two. Something has to give, and for the past few months it has unfortunately been my blog and communication with you guys (my online family).

So, I guess I need to decide what I do from here, do I continue with book two? Or do I put all my effort in to getting reviews? (because quitting my jobs, dumping my cats and not seeing my family and friends may seem like a great idea at the time but it probably wouldn’t get me far [and I would be miserable]!).

All advice welcome please.

7 thoughts on “Being busy…

  1. pedometergeek says:

    My advice: worry less about reviews (as the wife of an indie author, I know that reviews don’t necessarily sell books), and more about writing book two (one book is good, but every book is an advertisement for every other book or that it is how it seems to my husband, author of Shrader Marks: Keelhouse and the McGowan Chronicles (4 novels which include McGowan’s Return), and others…in other words, if someone enjoyed reading book one, they’ll be looking to read your book two). Of course, don’t neglect your family and friends because they are the ones that matter in the long run for your happiness. Wishing you success in all your writing (and life) endeavors. ~nan

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Navi Review says:

    I am in the EXACT same boat as you! I have/had 2 jobs (until recently, when I decided to give up being a Developmental Editor at a text book firm, PT) to try to make a career of what I truly love – reviewing. Likely, this stemmed from the arrival of my 30th birthday last month, and I decided to say EFF it; I want to do what I REALLY want to do! And I recently finished re-writing my first novel and have started pitching it to agents. The question then became, for me the same as for you, do I start tackling book 2 or the short story collection, or the reviews (Oh my!)?

    With that being said, what it came down to for me was what truly makes me happy. I know, I know, it’s a bit of a cliche these days (“happiness,” I mean what even is that, right?) But I want to find joy in everything that I do, because life is already hard enough, stressful enough, sometimes painful enough. Trust me, it can all be done. You just have to prioritize what means most to you AND prioritize your own goals for the future. If you have something on your plate that fits into neither of those categories, then it should be eliminated. 🙂 Hope that helps!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

